Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
CSAT Certification
Share |
Certifications We Offer    ASAT | CSAT | APTTCPTT | CMAT | PSAP | Supervision

Apply Now

Certified Sex Addiction Therapist

Founded by renowned therapist Dr. Patrick Carnes, the CSAT® (Certified Sex Addiction Therapist)
program was developed after years of extensive experience in the field of addiction. The CSAT®
certification offers a cutting-edge advantage for practitioners wanting to grow their practice and gain
new insights about addictive and compulsive behaviors.

IITAP's network of certified sex addiction therapists are recognized as experts in the field of addiction therapy. As a certified practitioner, you will have access to valuable tools and support for your practice.

 As a Certified Sex Addiction Therapist, you will:

  • Obtain tools for treating sex addiction
  • Receive intensive, experiential training
  • Grow your practice or treatment center through the CSAT network
  • Gain access to exclusive behavioral assessments
  • 24/7 access to the IITAP professional network

CSAT® Qualifications

To become a Certified Sex Addiction Therapist (CSAT®), you must have the following credentials upon completion of the four (4) training modules and prior to submitting your Final Application for Certification:

  1. Fully licensed, meaning you are able to practice independently without supervision through a state board (or equivalent) as a counselor, social worker, therapist, doctor, psychiatrist, or psychologist.
  2. Earned a Master's Degree or higher from an accredited institution in psychology, counseling, or related mental health field
  3. Have a minimum of five years clinical counseling experience 

Note: For therapists who do not fully meet the above criteria, please see the ASAT certification.

Certification Process

To start the certification process we ask that all potential candidates submit a training application with the supporting documents specified in the application. Once your application is approved, you will be able to register for the first module training. Candidates must complete all four training modules, each lasting 4.5 days. Module dates, times, and locations can be found on the Training Schedule. 30 hours of supervision with an approved CSAT Supervisor is required with the following benchmarks: 8 hours completed by the start of Module 3 and 15 hours total completed prior to the start of Module 4. Candidates are required to complete their supervision and four training modules within two years of the start of their first module training. Once all training and clinical supervision is complete, candidates must submit a Final Application for Certification to IITAP for approval. At that time, IITAP will determine if the candidate meets the qualifications for the CSAT® designation (see CSAT® Qualifications above) or the ASAT designation. 

Certification and Training Fees

Training Application Fee = $35
Module 1 = $1,350 (Early Bird) OR $1,450 (Standard)
Module 2 = $1,300 (Early Bird) OR $1,400 (Standard)
Module 3 = $1,300 (Early Bird) OR $1,400 (Standard)
Module 4 = $1,300 (Early Bird) OR $1,400 (Standard)
Final Application Fee for Certification = $225

Additional costs: 30 hours of supervision with a CSAT Supervisor is required. IITAP does not manage those fees, however, we do provide a list of approved Supervisors to choose from. Each Module will have prep-work which may include books for purchase. Specific requirements will be provided via email upon registration for each Module. Finally, there will likely be travel costs to consider depending on which training location you choose. All available trainings can be found on the Training Schedule

Certification Renewal Process

CSATs are required to renew their certification every two (2) years from their original certification date. An automatic notice is sent 45-days prior to the expiration date with detailed instructions on the renewal process which includes updating professional license and malpractice insurance documentation and submitting a $200 renewal fee. CSATs are also required to earn 15 IITAP Continuing Education (CE) hours over the 2-year period.


Item Name Posted By Date Posted
There are no files to display.

IITAP Partners