Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Training and Certification FAQs
Share |

Click on the question to reveal the answer.

There are five different types of certification which you may qualify for:

Associate Sex Addiction Therapist (ASAT)


  • Associate/Intern license through a state board (or equivalent); or certified through NAADAC as an NCACI, NCAC II, or MAC or through ICRC / AODA as an AODA / AAODA or ICCOP
  • Earned a Bachelor’s Degree or higher from an accredited institution in psychology, counseling, or related mental health field
  • Have five or less years of clinical experience

Certified Sex Addiction Therapist (CSAT)


  • Licensed through a state board (or equivalent) as a social worker, therapist, doctor, psychiatrist, or counseling clergy
  • Earned a Master's Degree or higher from an accredited institution in psychology, counseling, or related mental health field
  • Have a minimum of five years clinical experience

Pastoral Sex Addiction Professional (PSAP)


  • Earned an M.Div or equivalent with counseling courses, leader or Pastor of an established church
  • Currently working in or affiliated with a religious institution
  • Determinations for additional qualifications are made on a case-by-case basis

Multiple Addiction Therapist


  • Must already be certified as an ASAT, CSAT or PSAP-S
  • Completion of one or more of the following specialty training(s): Chemical & Alcohol Dependency, Financial Disorders, and/or Eating Disorders



  • Certified as a CSAT for at least two years
  • Have five years of clinical supervision experience
  • Currently a supervisor within a company and/or professionally licensed as a supervisor

Yes. ASATs are eligible to become CSATs if their certification is in good standing and they obtain the necessary requirements. 

ASAT/CSAT modules:

  • Module 1 - $1,350.00 USD
  • Modules 2, 3 and 4 - $1,300.00 USD each

Discounts are offered when paying for more than one module up front:

  • 5% savings for 2 modules
  • 10% savings for 3 modules
  • 15% savings for all 4 modules

PSAP modules: 

  • Modules 1 and 2 - $1,000.00 USD each
  •  10% savings when paying for both modules up front

Candidates have two years to complete all certification modules.

Yes, the modules need to be taken sequentially beginning with module 1.

IITAP works in conjunction with our generous hosts and sponsors to bring our training modules to communities around the globe. We typically offer a full training series in four or five cities each year, and the modules are scheduled with a few months in between to allow candidates time to absorb their learning and prepare for the next module. Trainings can be found on our event calendar located here:
Most module training will have prep work which you will receive instructions upon registration where to locate the assignment. Prep work can include reading or taking assessments.

ASAT and CSAT candidates are required to work with an approved CSAT supervisor and must complete a total of 30 hours of supervision:

  • Eight hours must be completed prior to the start of module 3;        
  • Seven additional hours are required prior to the start of module 4;       
  • And the final 15 hours must be completed prior to certification.

PSAP candidates will have access to PSAP supervisors for support and guidance, however, there is not a supervision requirement for this certification. 

Completing the module trainings is one component of certification. After ASAT/CSAT candidates complete their training and 30 hours of supervision, they must submit an Application for Final Certification to the IITAP office with the following supporting documentation:

  • Current copies of state licensure(s) and/or certification(s)
  • Current copy of malpractice/professional liability insurance
  • Current resume/CV outlining clinical experience; dates must be included
  • Three letters of recommendation from professional colleagues, which can include other CSATs, CSAT candidates and CSAT supervisors.

NOTE:  CSAT supervisors are required to submit the final evaluation of the candidate to the IITAP office directly.  All requirements must be completed to become certified.

Certifications are valid for two years and must be renewed in order to remain certified. ASATs and CSATs must renew on or before their expiration date through their member profile at They will need to have a current copy of licensure/certification, and current copy of malpractice insurance prior to their certificate’s expiration date. Within the two-year certification period, ASAT, CSAT and PSAP's need to earn 15 IITAP CE hours for renewal.   Training opportunities with CE hours can be found on the event calendar: 

IITAP Partners